Current Students

Semester dates for Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Dental Medicine, Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, Doctor of Podiatric Surgery and Doctor of Podiatry

Further Information

    studentConnect
    Trimester dates
    Timetable
    New Students

2019 semester dates for those studying the following degrees at The University of Western Australia are listed below:

Doctor of Medicine (90850)

 

Year 1
OrientationMon 21 Jan – 9am to 5pm
First semesterMon 21 Jan to Sat 15 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 27 May to Fri 31 May
Examination periodSat 1 June to Sat 15 June
Vacation (3 weeks)Mon 17 June to Fri 5 July
Second semesterMon 8 July to Fri 15 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct
Study break (1 week)Mon 28 Oct to Fri 1 Nov
Examination periodSat 2 Nov to Fri 15 Nov
Year 2
First and Second RotationTue 29 Jan to Fri 14 June
Mid semester break (1 week)Mon 19 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Third RotationMon 17 June to Fri 2 Aug
Fourth RotationMon 12 Aug to Fri 27 Sept
Mid semester break (1 week)Mon 5 Aug to Fri 9 Aug
Fifth RotationMon 23 Sept to Fri 15 Nov
Study break (1 week)Mon 1 Oct to Fri 15 Nov
Examination week (1 week)Mon 25 Nov to Fri 29 Nov
Year 3
First and Second RotationTue 29 Jan to Fri 17 May
Semester break (1 week)Mon 20 May to Sun 26 May
Third and Fourth RotationMon 27 May to Fri 13 Sept
Semester break (1 week)Mon 16 Sept to Fri 21 Sept
Fifth RotationMon 23 Sept to Fri 15 Nov
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 18 Nov to Thurs 21 Nov
Examination week (1 week)Fri 22 Nov to Fri 29 Nov
Year 4
ElectiveMon 31 Dec 2019 to Sun 3 Feb
MRSA Testing WeekBy Tues 5 Feb
Integrated Medical Practice 3Mon 11 Feb to Fri 13 Sep
First Rotation Mon 11 Feb to Fri 15 Mar
Second Rotation Mon 18 Mar to Fri 19 April
Third Rotation Mon 22 April to Fri 24 May
Semester break (2 weeks)Mon 27 May to Fri 7 June
Fourth Rotation Mon 10 June to Fri 12 July
Fifth Rotation Mon 15 July to Fri 16 Aug
Sixth Rotation Mon 19 Aug to Fri 20 Sep
Examination study breakMon 23 Sep to Thu 26 Sept
Examination week (1 week)Fri 27 Sep Nov to Tues 1 Oct
Semester break (1 week)Wed 2 Oct to Fri 4 Oct
Preparation for InternshipMon 7 Oct to Sun 1 Dec
Dedication/Graduation ceremonyTBA – During Dec 10 to Dec 16

Doctor of Dental Medicine (90860)

Year 1
OrientationMon 21 Jan – 9am to 5pm
First semesterMon 21 Jan to Fri 28 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 27 May to Fri 31 May
Examination periodSat 1 June to Sat 15 June
Dental Clinical Immersion Block (2 weeks)Mon 17 June to Fri 28 June
Second semesterMon 8 July to Fri 29 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct
Study break (1 week)Mon 28 Oct to Fri 1 Nov
Examination periodSat 2 Nov to Fri 15 Nov
Dental Clinical Immersion Block (2 weeks)Mon 18 Nov to Fri 29 Nov
Years 2 and 3
First semesterMon 14 Jan to Fri 21 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 3 June to Fri 7 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks)Mon 10 June to Fri 21 June
Vacation (1 week)Mon 24 June to Fri 28 June
Second semesterMon 1 July to Fri 22 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct
Study break (1 week)Mon 4 Nov to Fri 8 Nov
Annual examinations beginMon 11 Nov to Fri 22 Nov
Year 4
Full Year TeachingMon 14 Jan to Fri 29 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct

Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (90870)

Year 1
Orientation (half day)Mon 21 Jan - 9am to 4 pm
First semesterMon 21 Jan to Fri 15 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 27 May to Fri 31 May
Examination periodSat1 June to Sat 15 June
Vacation (3 weeks)Mon 17 June to Fri 5 July
Second semesterMon 8 July to Fri 15 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct
Study break (1 week)Mon 28 Oct to Fri 1 Nov
Examination periodSat 2 Nov to Fri 15 Nov
Year 2
First semesterMon 11 Feb to Fri 21 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 3 June to Fri 7 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks)Sat 10 June to Fri 21 June
Vacation (4 weeks)Mon 24 June to Fri 19 July
Second semesterMon 22 July to Fri 29 Dec
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 11 Nov to Fri 15 Nov
Second semester examinations (2 weeks)Mon 18 Nov to Fri 29 Nov
Year 3
First semesterMon 11 Feb to Fri 21 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 3 June to Fri 7 June
Examination periodMon 10 June to Fri 21 June
Vacation (two weeks)Mon 24 June to Fri 5 July
Second semesterMon 8 July Feb to Fri 15 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 Oct
Study break (1 week)Mon 28 Oct Feb to Fri 1 Nov
Examination period (2 weeks)Mon 4 Nov Feb to Fri 15 Nov

Doctor of Podiatric Surgery and Doctor of Podiatry

All years
First semesterMon 11 Feb to Fri 21 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 22 Apr to Fri 26 Apr
Mid-year external placementsMon 6 May to Fri 30 Aug
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 3 June to Fri 7 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks)Mon 10 June to Fri 21 June
Vacation (4 weeks)Mon 24 June to Fri 19 July
Second semesterMon 22 July to Fri 29 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 30 Sept to Fri 4 OCt
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 11 Nov to Fri 15 Nov
Second semester examinations (2 weeks)Sat 18 Nov to Sat 29 Nov