Current Students

Important dates for Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Dental Medicine, Doctor of Podiatric Medicine and Doctor of Podiatric Surgery

Further Information

    studentConnect
    Trimester dates
    Timetable
    New Students

Important dates for those studying the following degrees at the University of Western Australia are listed below:

Doctor of Medicine

Year 1
Orientation (half day)Mon 22 Jan – 9am to 12 noon
First semesterTue 23 Jan to Fri 22 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 2 Apr to Fri 6 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 4 June to Fri 8 June
Examination weeks (2 weeks)Mon 11 June to Fri 22 June
Vacation (1 week)Mon 25 June to Fri 6 July
Second semesterMon 9 July to Fri 30 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 17 Sept to Fri 21 Sept
Study break (1 week)Mon 29 Oct to Fri 2 Nov
Examination weeks (2 weeks)Mon 5 Nov to Fri 16 Nov
Clinical Introduction (2 weeks)Mon 19 Nov to Fri 30 Nov
Year 2
First semesterMon 29 Jan to Fri 11 May
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 9 Apr to Fri 13 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 14 May to Fri 18 May
Examination week (1 week)Mon 21 May to Fri 25 May
First semester continuesMon 28 May to Fri 15 June
Vacation (2 weeks)Mon 18 June to Fri 29 June
Second semesterMon 2 July to Fri 23 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 10 Sept to Fri 14 Sept
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 26 Nov to Thu 29 Nov
OSCE examinationFri 30 Nov
Examination week (1 week)Mon 3 Dec to Fri 7 Dec
Year 3
First and Second RotationMon 29 Jan to Fri 18 May
Semester break (1 week)Mon 21 May to Fri 25 May
Third and Fourth RotationMon 28 May to Fri 14 Sept
Semester break (1 week)Mon 17 Sept to Fri 21 Sept
Fifth RotationMon 24 Sept to Fri 16 Nov
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 19 Nov to Fri 23 Nov
Examination week (1 week)Mon 26 Nov to Fri 30 Nov
Remediation/Vacation fromFri 14 December
Year 4
ElectiveMon 1 Jan to Fri 2 Feb
MRSA Testing WeekMon 5 Feb to Fri 9 Feb
Integrated Medical Practice 3Mon 12 Feb to Fri 14 Sep
Semester break (1 week)Mon 28 May to Fri 1 June
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 17 Sep to Thu 20 Sep
Examination week (1 week)Fri 21 Sep Nov to Mon 24 Sep
Semester break (1 week)Mon 1 Oct to Fri 5 Oct
Preparation for InternshipMon 8 Oct to Fri 30 Nov

Doctor of Dental Medicine

Year 1
Orientation (half day)Mon 22 Jan – 1pm to 4pm
First semesterTue 23 Jan to Fri 22 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 2 Apr to Fri 6 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 4 June to Fri 8 June
Examination weeks (2 weeks)Mon 11 June to Fri 22 June
Vacation (1 week)Mon 25 June to Fri 6 July
Second semesterMon 9 July to Fri 30 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 17 Sept to Fri 21 Sept
Study break (1 week)Mon 29 Oct to Fri 2 Nov
Examination weeks (2 weeks)Mon 5 Nov to Fri 16 Nov
Clinical Introduction (2 weeks)Mon 19 Nov to Fri 30 Nov
Years 2 and 3
First semesterMon 15 Jan to Fri 1 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 16 Apr to Fri 20 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 4 June to Fri 8 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks)Mon 11 June to Fri 22 June
Vacation (1 week)Mon 25 June to Fri 29 June
Second semesterMon 2 July to Fri 2 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 24 Sept to Fri 28 Sept
Study break (1 week)Mon 5 Nov to Fri 9 Nov
Annual examinations beginSat 10 Nov to Sat 24 Nov
Year 4
Full Year TeachingMon 15 Jan to Fri 30 Nov
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 16 Apr to Fri 20 Apr
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 24 Sept to Fri 28 Sept

Doctor of Podiatric Medicine and Doctor of Podiatric Surgery

Year 1
Orientation (half day)Mon 22 Jan - 1pm to 4pm
First semesterTue 23 Jan to Fri 22 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 2 Apr to Fri 6 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 4 June to Fri 8 June
Examination weeks (2 weeks)Mon 11 June to Fr 22 June
Vacation (1 week)Mon 25 June to Fri 6 July
Second semesterMon 9 July to Fri 21 Sept
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 17 Sept to Fri 21 Sept
Study break (1 week)Mon 29 Oct to Fri 2 Nov
Examination weeks (2 weeks)Mon 5 Nov to Fri 16 Nov
Clinical Introduction (2 weeks)Mon 19 Nov to Fri 30 Nov
Years 2 and 3
First semesterMon 12 Feb to Fri 29 June
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 2 Apr to Fri 6 Apr
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 4 June to Fri 8 June
First semester examinations (2 weeks)Sat 9 June to Sat 23 June
Vacation (3 weeks)Mon 2 July to Fri 20 July
Second semesterMon 23 July to Fri 7 Dec
Mid-semester break (1 week)Mon 24 Sept to Fri 28 Sept
Examination study break (1 week)Mon 5 Nov to Fri 9 Nov
Second semester examinations (2 weeks)Sat 10 Nov to Sat 24 Nov